Welcome to NALLOA Online

The National Auctioneer License Law Officials Association, or as it is more commonly known, NALLOA, has been in existence for over 40 years.

Our organization serves as a forum of licensing board members and associate members, who communicate, endorse reciprocity and promote the common good in regulating the auction profession.

We constantly look for ways to improve reciprocity and make it easier to obtain and maintain a license in this manner.

Learn More About NALLOA »

Welcome to NALLOA Online

The National Auctioneer License Law Officials Association, or as it is more commonly known, NALLOA, has been in existence for almost 40 years.

Our organization serves as a forum of licensing board members and associate members, who communicate, endorse reciprocity and promote the common good in regulating the auction profession.

We constantly look for ways to improve reciprocity and make it easier to obtain and maintain a license in this manner.

Learn More About NALLOA »

State Requirements

Note: Explanation of Third Party Reciprocity – Third Party Reciprocity means that you do not have to reside in the state where you are presently licensed in order to get a reciprocal license in another state.
Alabama | Arkansas | Florida  Georgia  Illinois |Indiana Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine |Massachusetts Mississippi | New Hampshire
North Carolina |North Dakota  Ohio | Pennsylvania | South Carolina |South Dakota Tennessee | Texas | Vermont Virginia |Washington West Virginia Wisconsin

ALABAMA

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Keith E. Warren, Executive Director– Hope Childers, Administrator

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 334-420-7235

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: keith@alstateboard.com or hope@alstateboard.com

BOARD’S E-MAIL: auctioneers@warrenandco.com

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://www.auctioneer.alabama.gov

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: Yes if apprentice serves only one year apprenticeship, and No if the apprentice serves a two year apprenticeship

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes
(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity however there are time limits on licensure for some states)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: Monthly

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? Yes, 6 hours every odd numbered year. Licensees 65 years and older are exempt.

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: Yes, the Board no longer has a residency requirement.

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: September 30th annually

APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: 2-3 weeks

DOES ALABAMA REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: Yes

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE: Yes

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE  INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: We do not have governing authority if the auction is strictly online.  Please reference the Attorney General’s Opinion http://auctioneer.alabama.gov/PDF/AGOpinion2017-040.pdf 

WITH WHAT STATES DOES ALABAMA HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: AR, FL, GA, IL, IN, KY, LA, MS, NC, OH, PA, SC, TN. TX, VA, WV
DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Contact Board office for this information contact the Alabama Dept. of Revenue-Sales, Use & Business Tax Division @ 334-242-1490

ARKANSAS

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Kelli Black

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 501-682-1156

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: kelli.black@arkansas.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL: kelli.black@arkansas.gov

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://www.aralb.com

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: No

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: No

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes
(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: 4 times annually

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? Yes, 6 hours per year

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: No

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: Annually on June 30th

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: minimum of 8 weeks due to background checks

DOES ARKANSAS REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: Yes

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? No

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: No

WITH WHAT STATES DOES ARKANSAS HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: AL, FL, GA, IL, IN, KY, LA, MS, NC, OH, PA,TN, TX, WI

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Contact Board office for information on this.

FLORIDA

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Amanda Ackerman,  or Administrative Assistant, Emily Abbott

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 850-717-1982

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: amanda.ackerman@myfloridalicense.com   or   Emily.abbott@myfloridalicense.com

BOARD’S E-MAIL: Same as above  

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://www.myfloridalicense.com

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: No, if classroom instruction has been completed by the licensee.

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: Yes, 80 hours of instruction from an approved auction school.

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes for initial license unless qualified for reciprocity or endorsement
(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: Daily

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? No

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: Yes

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: November 30th of odd numbered years

APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: 4 weeks

DOES FLORIDA REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: No. Only a broker’s license is required. A licensed broker is defined in Section 475.00(1)(a). Florida Statutes do not require an auctioneer license to sell real estate at auction.

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? Yes

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS:  No

WITH WHAT STATES DOES FLORIDA HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: AL, AR, GA, IL, IN, KY, LA, MA, MS, NH, NC, OH, PA, SC, TN, TX, VA, WV, WI

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Contact Florida Department of Revenue – Welcome to the Florida Department of Revenue web site.

 GEORGIA

BOARD CONTACT PERSON:  Brad Coman, Executive Director

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 844-753-7825

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: bcoman@sos.ga.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL: Trades3@sos.ga.gov

BOARD’S WEBSITE: https://sos.ga.gov/georgia-auctioneers-commission

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED:  No

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: Yes, must attend an approved auction school

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED:  Yes

(no exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity however there are time limits on licensure for some states)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED:  Administered by PSI, exams given frequently according to OPSI schedule.  Applicants approved for exam by the Commission are contacted by PSI to verify eligibility and to provide instructions on registering for the exam. 

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT?    Yes, 8 hours within the previous 24 months

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED:  No

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: February 28th of the even numbered years

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE:  The agency asks that applicants allow up to 15 days for processing of all applications and correspondence.  The Commission has given staff the authority to issue some licenses once the application is complete.  For applications that require full Commission review, the Commission meets every other month and those applications are reviewed and approved then.

DOES GEORGIA REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: Yes. For Real Estate licenses, contact the Georgia Real Estate Commission

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? Yes

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS:  Yes. There is no exemption in Georgia law for online auctions.

WITH WHAT STATES DOES GEORGIA HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS:  The Commission does not maintain an official list of states.  They look at the individual state’s licensing requirements when making a decision on licensing a Georgia license.

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE:  Yes.  For possible exceptions, contact the GA Department of Revenue

ILLINOIS

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Susan Sigourney

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 217-785-9640

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: susan.sigourney@illinois.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL: www.idfpr.com/profs/auctioneers.asp

BOARD’S WEBSITE:State of Illinois/ Department of Financial & Professional Regulation

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: N/A

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: No

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes
(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: Weekly, Monday through Friday

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? Yes, 12 hours every two years, but the auctioneer is exempt from CE if it is his or her first renewal.

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: Yes, but you still must be licensed in a state with which Illinois has a reciprocal agreement. However, you do not need to reside in that state.

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: December 31st and then every two years in the even numbered years

(For reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: 4-6 weeks

DOES ILLINOIS REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: To sell “real” property in Illinois, you must have an IL real estate license (there are auctioneers who were grandfathered when the law passed, therefore they can auction “real” property at auction without a real estate license. Their auction license numbers begin with “440”. This grandfather opportunity was over 6-30-2000. No one can obtain a license with”440″ now. An auctioneer will be able to obtain a real estate auction certification by successfully completing a 30 hour course. The auctioneer’s role will be limited to establishing the time, place, and method of the real estate auction, placing advertisements regarding the auction, crying, or calling the auction

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE: Yes, for Corporations, Limited Liability Companies and Partnerships

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: No

WITH WHAT STATES DOES ILLINOIS HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: AL, AR, FL, IN, MA, MS, OH, TN, TX, WI

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Contact Illinois Department of Revenue, www.revenue.state.il.us for information on this?

 INDIANA

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Toby Snell, Director                                        

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 317-234- 8800

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS Tobsnell@pla.in.gov

BOARD”S E-MAILpla14@pla.in.gov

BOARD’S WEBSITE:  pla.in.gov

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED:  Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED:  No

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED:  Yes

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED:  Yes for first issuance

(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED:   6 times annually

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? Yes, 16 hours every four years  

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED:  No

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: February 28th every four years

(for reciprocal licenses only)  APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: 4-6  for processing

DOES INDIANA REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: No

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? This license is no longer offered or recognized.  Auction Company License-This license is required if a person or persons as a part of its business, arranges, manages, sponsors, or carries out auctions.

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: No

WITH WHAT STATES DOES INDIANA HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: AL, AR, FL, GA, IL, KY, NC, OH, PA, RI, SC, TN, TX, VA, WV

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE:  Check Statutes & Rules.

 

 KENTUCKY

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Pam Samples, Administrative Coordinator and Executive Director, Robert Astorino

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 502-782-0722

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: pam.samples@ky.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL: auctioneers@ky.gov

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://auctioneers.ky.gov

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED:  Yes, a 1 year/10 auction apprenticeship is required

IS PRE-LICENSNG EDUCATION REQUIRED: Yes, 12 hours for apprentice and 80 hours for Principal

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes
(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: Weekley and monthly, through the Kentucky Community and Technical Colleges throughout the state.

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? All licenses, except those licensed before 01/01/1980, must take 6 hours.  Core every four years.  After 25 years if continuous licensure the Core is no longer required, but CE is still required.

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: Yes.

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: June 30th, annually

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE:  Less than 10 days

DOES KENTUCKY REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: Both licenses are required; however, there is no requirement that they be held by the same person.  Auctioneers may work with a broker.

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE: No, we only license individual auctioneers

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: Yes

WITH WHAT STATES DOES KENTUCKY  HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: AL, AR, FL, GA, IN, LA, MA, MS, NC, OH, PA, SC, TN,, VA, WV,WI

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Yes.  Yes to all personal property including estates

LOUISIANA

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Sandy Edmonds

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 225-295-8420

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS Sandy@lalb.org 

BOARD’S E-MAIL: admin@lalb.org

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://www.lalb.org

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: No

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: Yes. Approved auction school or apprenticeship

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes
(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: Examinations are scheduled as needed based on submitted applications.

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? No

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: No

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: December 31st annually

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: All applications go before the board for approval at a regularly scheduled board meeting. The board meets every other month. A temporary license may be issued when a license is needed prior to the next scheduled meeting.

DOES LOUISIANA REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: No, however, we recommend a licensed realtor be involved in the process.

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE: Yes. However, Louisiana residents and Arkansas, South Carolina and Texas reciprocal licensees are exempt if the business is a sole proprietorship.

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: Yes

WITH WHAT STATES DOES LOUISIANA HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: AL, AR, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, OH, PA, SC, TN, TX, VA, WV

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Please contact the Louisiana Department of Revenue for specific tax info.

MAINE

BOARD CONTACT PERSON:  Elizabeth Moulton

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 207-624-8521

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: elizabeth.moulton@maine.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL: auctioneers.board@maine.gov

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/board-licensing-auctioneers

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: No

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: No

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: At least 4 times per year.

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? No

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: No.  No reciprocity at all

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: March 31st of each year

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: N/A

DOES MAINE REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: If an auctioneer engages in real estate brokerage, the auctioneer must be licensed under Chapter 114 as a real estate licensee, except that a real estate license is not required if the auctioneer is hired to call bids on real estate being sold at an auction and the auctioneer does not prepare contracts or otherwise control the actual sale or take custody of any part of the purchase price

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? No

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS:  See exemption to Licensing #8 Contracted Internet Auctions

WITH WHAT STATES DOES MAINE HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: N/A

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Contact Board office for information on this.

MASSACHUSETTS

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Massachusetts Division of Standards—James P. Cassidy, Jr.

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 617-727-3480 ext.21131

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS:  james.cassidy@state.ma.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL:

BOARD’S WEBSITE:

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED:  No

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: Yes

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED:  Yes

(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity) however they must have taken an exam in thestate where they became licensedd

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: the auctioneer must pass a written examination given by an independent testing service.

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? No   A $10,000 bond is required

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: No

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: One year from the date if issue

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: 10 days

DOES MASSACHUSETTS REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION:  No, just an auctioneer license

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? Optional

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: Check with office

WITH WHAT STATES DOES MASSACHUSETTS HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS:  FL, IL, KY, MS, NH, NC,

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Yes

MISSISSIPPI

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Yvonne Laird

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 601-750-4909

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: info@msauctioneercommission@gmail.com

BOARD’S E-MAIL: same as above

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://www.auctioneers.ms.gov

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: No

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: Yes, 85 hours at a Commission approved school

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes
(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: Upon receipt of an examination application

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? No

DOES MISSISSIPPI ACCEPT ONLINE EDUCATION:  Yes, from a previously approved auctioneer school

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: No

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: March 1st of every odd numbered year

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: 45 days or the next scheduled Commission Meeting.

DOES MISSISSIPPI REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: Yes, he must have both an auctioneer license and a real estate broker license.

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? Yes. If you own the auction company and/or serve as a principal officer AND serve as the only auctioneer on behalf of the business, then and only then are you exempt from having a firm license (in-state and out-of-state).  Therefore, if you hire additional auctioneers to provide auction services on behalf of your company, you are required to have a firm license.

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: Yes

WITH WHAT STATES DOES MISSISSIPPI HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: AL, AR, FL, GA, IL, KY, LA, MA, NC, NH,  OH, SC, TN, TX, VA

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Yes under normal circumstances.  Sales tax issues are referred to the Mississippi Department of Revenue.

NEW HAMPSHIRE

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Talia Wilson

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 603-271-3242

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: Talia.Wilson@sos.nh.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL: Same as above

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://www.sos.nh.gov.auctioneers.aspx

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: Yes

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes
(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: 4 times annually

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? No

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: No

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: Two years from that date of approval.

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: Usually 2-6 weeks

DOES NEW HAMPSHIRE REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: No

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? No

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: No

WITH WHAT STATES DOES NEW HAMPSHIRE HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: FL, GA, IN, KY, LA, MA, NC, OH, PA, SC, TN, TX, WV

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Contact Board office for information on this.

NORTH CAROLINA

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Charles Diehl, Executive Director

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 919-567-2844

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://www.ncalb.org

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: cdiehl@ncalb.org

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: Only if person does not go to auction school

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: Only if person does not serve a 2 year apprenticeship

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes
(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: Six (6) times annually.

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? Yes, 4 hours per year

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: No

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: June 30th of each year

APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: Approximately one month. This really depends on when the application is received. We have deadline dates and all applications must go before the board for approval. Once approved the license is issued

DOES NORTH CAROLINA REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: Yes, but there are other optional scenarios

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? Yes

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTION: Yes

WITH WHAT STATES DOES NORTH CAROLINA HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: AL, AR, FL, GA, IN, KY, LA, MA, MS, NH, OH, PA, SC, TN, TX, VA, WV, WI–Special conditions apply for FL, LA, MA, NH, TX and WI (see back page for these conditions

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Contact Board office for information on this.
Special conditions applied to reciprocal agreements with FL, LA, MA, NH, TX and WI by North Carolina Law

 

NORTH DAKOTA

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Shelly Bauske

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER:701-328-4070                                                   

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: sbauske@nd.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL:

BOARD’S WEBSITE:

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED:  No

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED:  Yes, see NDCC 51-05.1-02

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: No                                  

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED:   N/A

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT?  No   

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED:  No

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: December 31st, annually

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE:  N/A

DOES NORTH DAKOTA REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: An auctioneer can sell real estate at public auction without a real estate license, but once the hammer drops, the auctioneer is required to have a real estate license to proceed with any further actions in selling real estate.  For additional information see the article found at: https://psc.nd.gov/forms/auctions/Article-SellingRealEstateAtPublicAuction.pdf  or contact agency for clarification.

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE: An auction firm license is not required; however, an auction clerk is required to clerk the sale and handle the funds. The auction clerk must be licensed and bonded.   Contact agency for clarification.

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: No, provided the auction is held exclusively via the internet and there is no live auction component.  See NDCC 51-05.1-04

WITH WHAT STATES DOES NORTH DAKOTA HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS:  None

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE:  Yes, contact the North Dakota Tax Dept

OHIO

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Donna Potter

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 614-728-6240

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: dpotter@agri.ohio.gov

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://www.agri.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/oda/programs/auctioneers/home

BOARD’S E-MAIL: auctioneer@agri.ohio.gov

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: Must attend approved auction school before application for apprentice license is made

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes
(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: Auctioneer exam-4 times annually and Apprentice and Firm Manager exam-monthly

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? No

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: Yes

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: Annually on June 30th. Auctioneer licensees with last names beginning with A-K and X-Z renew in Odd numbered years and names beginning with K-W renew in even numbered years. Apprentice and Auction Firm licenses renew annually.

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: Generally within 72 hours upon receipt of a completed application; however the statute permits 30 days for processing. Keep in mind you must have license in hand prior to any advertisement being run.

DOES OHIO REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: Yes

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? Yes, a separate license is required if you are a corporation, LLC, partnership or association.  There are two business types available: Auctioneer license for corporation LLC, partnership or association, or an Auction Firm License

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTION: Currently, ORC4707.02(B) exempts online auctions unless they are conducted in conjunction with a live auction

WITH WHAT STATES DOES OHIO HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: AL, AR, FL, GA, IL, IN, KY, LA, MS, NC, PA, SC, TN, TX, VA, WV,WI

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Contact Ohio Department of Taxation at 614-466-4810

PENNSYLVANIA

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Terrie Kocher, Board Administrator

BOARD TELEPHOINE NUMBER-717-783-3397

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: st-auctioneer@pa.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL: st-auctioneer@pa.gov

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://www.dos.state.pa.us/auct

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: Please refer to Section 3.(e)(1)(3) of the  Auctioneer Licensing and Trading Assistant Registration Act,

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: Please refer to Section 3.(e)(2)and (3) of the  Auctioneer Licensing and Trading Assistant Registration Act

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Please refer to Section 3.(e) of the Auctioneer Licensing and Trading Assistant Registration Act

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: Daily

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO,WHAT? No

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: Please refer to Section 12.(a)(1)(2)(3)(a.1) of the Auctioneer Licensing and Trading Assistant Registration Act

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: February 28th of odd numbered years

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: 3-4 weeks

DOES PENNSYLVANIA REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: No

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE?  Please refer to Section 3.(e.1(1) and Section 5.(b.1) of the Auctioneer Licensing and Trading Assistant Act,

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania does not distinguish between online auctions and in person auctions.  Refer to the Auctioneer Licensing and Trading Assistant Registration Act

WITH WHAT STATES DOES PENNSYLVANIA HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS:  Please refer to Section 12.(a)(1)(2)(3)(a.1) of the Auctioneer Licensing and Trading Assistant Registration Act

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: yes

SOUTH CAROLINA

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Amy Holleman

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 803-896-4670

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: amy.holleman@llr.sc.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL: contact.auctioneers@llr.sc.gov/auc/

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://www.llr.state.us.pol/auctioneers

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: Optional-in lieu of auctioneering school

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: Optional-in lieu of serving an apprenticeship

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes
(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: Examinations are given through a third party PSI and are not offering them year round

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? Yes, 8 hours every two years

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: Yes

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: Auctioneer and auction firm licenses expire June 30th of odd years (2017, 2019, etc.) Apprentice Auctioneer licenses expire annually on June 30th.

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE 7-14 days

DOES SOUTH CAROLINA REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: a licensed auctioneer may call a real estate auction without a real estate license if a real estate broker is engaged to handle the real estate transaction. If the auctioneer does not have a real estate license, his duties must be limited to calling the bids.

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE Yes, an auction firm license is required for business entities

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTION: The South Carolina Auctioneers Commission treats online auctions the same as they do in-person auctions

WITH WHAT STATES DOES SOUTH CAROLINA HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: AL, FL, GA, IN, KY, LA, MS, NC, OH, PA, TN, TX, VA, WV

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Contact the South Carolina Department of Revenue for information on this

 

SOUTH  DAKOTA

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Melissa Miller                                     

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 605-773-3600

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS:   Melissa.miller@state.sd.us

BOARD’S E-MAIL:  dlr.realestate@state.sd.us

BOARD’S WEBSITE:

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: No. You can do auctions with your Broker/Broker Associate license

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: No 

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED:  Yes

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED:  Yes                                                                                             

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: By appointment

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? Yes. 24 hours every two years   

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED:  No

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE:  Every two years on December 31st

(for non-resident licenses only APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF NON-RESIDENT LICENSE:  Usually within two weeks of receipt. Nonresident brokers, broker associates and salespersons acting as auctioneers must complete the South Dakota specific portion of the licensing exam for those categories of licensure. Nonresident licensed auctioneers must complete pre-licensing courses and pass the auctioneer licensing exam.  In addition, South Dakota no longer offer true reciprocity for brokers, broker associates and salespersons because they now have to complete the South Dakota specific portion of the licensing exam and also must submit to a criminal background check.

DOES SOUTH DAKOTA REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: South Dakota requires only one or the other

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE?  If the firm structure is other than a sole proprietorship, then it needs to be issued a firm license

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: Yes

WITH WHAT STATES DOES SOUTH DAKOTA HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS:  No reciprocal agreements with any state

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE:  Contact  South Dakota Department of Revenue for information on this.

TENNESSEE

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Roxana Gumucio

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 615-741-1310

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: Roxana.Gumucio@tn.gov  

BOARD’S E-MAIL: ce.auctioneer@tn.gov

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://www.tn.gov/commerce/regboards/auctioneers.html

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: Yes

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes
(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: 5 days per week

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? 6 hours each renewal (2 years)

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: No

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: every 2 years from date of issue

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: Approximately 10 business days.

DOES TENNESSEE REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: Yes

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? No.  Effective July 1, 2019, the firm and gallery license requirements are no longer needed

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS:  Not at this time

WITH WHAT STATES DOES TENNESSEE HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: AL, AR, FL, GA, IN, KY, LA, Ma, MS, NC, OH, PA, SC, TX, VA, WV, WI.

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: See FAQ’s at board’s website, www.tn.gov/commerce/boards/auction, or contact the Tennessee Department of Revenue’s website at www.tn.gov/revenue/tntaxes/salesanduse

TEXAS

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: LaTasha Poland

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 800-803-9202

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: latasha.poland@tdlr.texas.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL: auctioneers@tdlr.texas.gov

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://www.tdlr.texas.gov

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes.  Effective 09-01-2015, via House Bill 2481, the Associate Auctioneer Program is back at TDLR.  It is virtually the same as it was pre 2013, when it was taken out during the legislative session.

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: Yes

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes
(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: Daily

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT?  As of January 1,2006, 6 hours will be required 

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: No

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: Annually

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: 7-10 days

DOES TEXAS REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: No real estate license is required to “auction” the property, but to “sell” it (filling out forms, etc.) a real estate license is required

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? No

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGUATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: No

WITH WHAT STATES DOES TEXAS HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: AL, AR, FL, GA, IL, IN, LA, MS, NC, OH, SC, TN, VA, WV, WI

THE  TEXAS AUCTIONEER LAW WAS CHANGED IN THE 86th LEGISLATIVE SESSION, 2019.  HB 2233 CHANGED SECTION 1802.052(a) AND REMOVED THE REQUIREMENT THAT A PERSON MUST NOT HAVE HAD A FELONY CONVICTION WITHIN THE PREVIOUS FIVE YEARS, IN ORDER TO OBTAIN A LICENSE.  THIS CHANGE GOES INTO EFFECT SEPTEMBER 1, 2019. TEXAS HAS OTHER CRIMINAL CONVICTION GUIDELINES AND CHAPTER 53, OCCUPATIONS CODE TO HANDLE A PERSON’S PAST CRIMINAL OFFENSES, AND THIS SECTION WAS IN CONFLICT WITH THAT OTHER LAW.

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Yes

VIRGINIA

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Kate Nosbisch and Bonne Davis

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 804-367-8506

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: bonnie.davis@dpor.virginia.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL: auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov

BOARD’S WEBSITE: http://dpor.virginia.gov

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED: No

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED: Yes

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes
(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: Daily

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT? Six (6) hours of continuing education is required for renewal or reinstatement of a license.

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED: Yes

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: 24 months from the last day of the month in which the license was issued

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: If all paperwork is in order, 2 weeks.  The reciprocal agreement with AL is pending approval.

DOES VIRGINIA REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: No, as long as the licensed auctioneer complies with the provisions of Subsection A 8 of Section 54.1-2103 of the Code of Virginia, then a real estate license is not required to sell real estate at auction

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? Yes

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: No

WITH WHAT STATES DOES VIRGINIA HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS:FL, GA, IN, KY, LA, MS, NC, OH, PA, SC, TN, TX, WV and AL pending

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE: Contact Board office for information on this.

    

VERMONT

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Judith .Roy

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 802-828-3228

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: Judith.roy@vermont.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL: Same as above

BOARD’S WEBSITE :https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED:  Yes

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED:  Yes, if they apply by education

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED:  No

(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED:

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT?  No 

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED:

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: Bi-annually

(For reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE:

DOES VERMONT REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: If they are practicing under an auctioneer’s scope of practice yes.  If they are practicing under the scope of real estate, yes

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE?  Businesses in Vermont must be registered with Vermont Secretary of State (Corporations Division)

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: Please go to their website https://sos.vermont.gov./opr/., click on Professions, click on Auctioneers, select Statute & Rules.

WITH WHAT STATES DOES VERMONT HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS:

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE

WASHINGTON

BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Sandra Gonzales, Program Manager

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER:   380-664-6636

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: sgonzales@dol.wa.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL ADDRESS:  plssunit@dol.wa.gov

BOARD’S WEBSITE: https/www.dol.wa.gov/business/auctioneers/index.html

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED:  Washington State does not have an apprentice license

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED:  There are no educational requirements in Washington State

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: There are no examination requirements in Washington State

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED:   NA                  

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT?  No   

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED:  NA

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: Annually

(for reciprocal licenses only) APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: NA

DOES WASHINGTON REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: Yes Auctioneers can auction real estate,  however, a licensed real estate person will have to process the paperwork

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? Yes

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: Yes, if the business is located in Washington State or they have a pick-up location in Washington State

WITH WHAT STATES DOES WASHINGTON HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS:  NA

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE:  Contact WA ST Department of Revenue at https://dor.wa.gov/

 

WEST VIRGINIA

BOARD CONTACT PERSON:  Jodee Martin

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER:   304-558-3200

CONTACT PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: jodeemartin@wvda.us

BOARD’S E-MAIL: wvauctioneers@wvda.us

BOARD’S WEBSITE: Yhttps://agriculture.wva.gov/divisions/executive/Pages/Auctioneers.aspx

AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED:  Yes

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED:  If an apprentice attends an “approved” auction school the apprentice is required to serve a six month apprenticeshipIf the apprentice does not attend an “approved” auction school a two year apprenticeship is required.

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED: Yes, for both the apprentice and auctioneer license

(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)  Unless the reciprocity license has lapsed 2 years or more.  A license is only attainable once through reciprocity  61-11B-11 11.3

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED:   Twice annually

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT: Yes, 6 hours for auctioneers and 3 hours for apprentice auctioneers

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED:  No

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE:  June 30, annually

APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: 7-10 business days

DOES WEST VIRGINIA REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: Yes, see WV Code 19-2C-1 for exceptions and §30-40-5

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? Yes

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: Yes

WITH WHAT STATES DOES WEST VIRGINIA HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS:  AL, FL, GA, IN KY, NC, OH, PA, SC, TN, TX, VA

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE:  It depends on the type of sale.  Auctioneers should contact WV State Tax Department, 304-558-3333

 

WISCONSIN

 BOARD CONTACT PERSON: Dan Williams                                                    

BOARD’S TELEPHONE NUMBER:  608-266-2112

PERSON’S E-MAIL ADDRESS: Dan1.williams@wisconsin.gov

BOARD’S E-MAIL: DSPSBoards@wisconsin.gov

BOARD’S WEBSITE:

IS AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIRED: Yes (registration is required)

IS AN APPRENTICE LICENSE REQUIRED:  No, if a person wishes to practice while waiting to take the next available exam, they must obtain a temporary auctioneer registration

IS PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION REQUIRED:  No

IS A WRITTEN EXAMINATION REQUIRED:  Yes

(No exam is required if license is being obtained through reciprocity)

HOW OFTEN ARE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED: Daily, by appointment only

IS THERE A CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT, AND IF SO, WHAT?   Yes, 12 hours every two years

IS THIRD PARTY RECIPROCITY ALLOWED:  If you are asking whether we will grant a reciprocal registration to an applicant based upon a credential in another state that is also based upon a credential in another state, the answer is No.  In such case, Wisconsin would determine whether the states the applicant is seeking reciprocity from have requirements that are substantially equivalent to the requirements for registration in Wisconsin.

WHEN DO LICENSES EXPIRE: 12/14 of every even numbered year

(for reciprocal licenses only)

APPROXIMATE LENGTH OF TIME FROM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AND FULLY COMPLETED FORMS UNTIL ISSUANCE OF RECIPROCAL LICENSE: 10 days

DOES WISCONSIN REQUIRE BOTH A REAL ESTATE LICENSE AND AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE TO SELL REAL ESTATE AT AUCTION: No

DOES YOUR STATE REQUIRE AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE? Yes

DOES YOUR STATE HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO REGULATE INTERNET/ONLINE AUCTIONS: Check with office

WITH WHAT STATES DOES WISCONSIN HAVE RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS: AR,  IL, KY, NC,  TN, TX

DOES STATE SALES TAX APPLY TO AUCTIONS IN YOUR STATE:  Contact the Department of Revenue (608) 266-2776 for a brochure which explains the sales requirements for auctions, or call the Board office for information on this.

 

 

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS  FOR THE FOLLOWING  STATES 

ALASKA

There is no state required auctioneer license in Alaska. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Real Estate Contact: commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/professionallicensing/realestatecommission.aspx

State Agency Contact:

Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing Real Estate Commission

550 W. 7th Avenue, Ste. 1500

Anchorage, AK 99501

907.269.8160

 

ARIZONA

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Arizona. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: www.azauctioneers.org

State Real Estate Contact: www.azre.gov

State Agency Contact:

Arizona State Consumer Protection Department

1275 W. Washington St.

Phoenix, AZ 85007

602.542.5025

azag.gov/consumer

 

CALIFORNIA

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in California. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

Bonding/ Insurance Required: $20,000 ($30 Filing fee)

State Auctioneers Association: www.socalauctions.org

State Real Estate Contact: www.dre.ca.gov

State Agency Contact:

California Secretary of State Office

1500 11th Street

Sacramento, CA 95814

916.653.6814

sos.ca.gov

 

COLORADO

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Colorado. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: www.coauctioneers.com

State Real Estate Contact: colorado.gov/dora/division-real-estate

State Agency Contact:

Colorado State Consumer Protection Office

1300 Broadway, 7th Floor

Denver, CO 80203

800.222.4444

coloradoattorneygeneral.gov/departments/consumer-protection

 

CONNECTICUT

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Connecticut. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: None

State Real Estate Contact: https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/Common-Elements/Consumer-Facts-and-Contacts/Real-Estate

State Agency Contact:

Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection

450 Columbus Blvd., Ste. 901

Hartford, CT 06103

860.713.6100

portal.ct.gov/DCP

 

DELAWARE

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Delaware. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements. Resident auctioneers are required to have a state business license ($75). Other terms and licensure may apply to non-resident auctioneers.

State Auctioneers Association: http://www.delawareauctioneersassociation.org/

State Real Estate Contact: www.dpr.delaware.gov/boards/realestate

State Agency Contact:

Delaware Department of Justice

Carvel State Office Building

820 N. French St.

Wilmington, DE 19801

302.577.8600

attorneygeneral.delaware.gov/fraud/cpu

 

HAWAII

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Hawaii. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneer Association: None

State Real Estate Contact: cca.hawaii.gov/reb

State Agency Contact:

Hawaii Department of Commerce – Consumer Protection

King Kalakaua Building

335 Merchant St., Room 333

Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

808.586.2643

cca.hawaii.gov

 

IDAHO

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Idaho. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: https://www.idahoauctioneers.org

State Real Estate Contact: https://irec.idaho.gov

State Agency Contact:

Idaho Consumer Protection Division

954 W. Jefferson, 2nd Floor

Boise, ID 83720

208.334.2424

https://www.ag.idaho.gov/consumer-protection/

 

IOWA

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Iowa. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: www.iowaauctioneers.org

State Real Estate Contact: www.plb.iowa.gov/board/real-estate-sales-brokers

State Agency Contact:

Iowa Consumer Protection Division

Hoover State Building

1305 E. Walnut St.

Des Moines, IA. 50319

515.281.5926

iowaattorneygeneral.gov/for-consumers

 

KANSAS

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Kansas. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

Bonding/ Insurance Required : Check with any license-issuing body for requirements and fees.

State Auctioneers Association: www.kansasauctioneers.com

State Real Estate Contact: www.krec.ks.gov

State Agency Contact:

Kansas Consumer Protection Division

120 SW 10th Avenue, 2nd Floor

Topeka, KS 66612

785.296.2215

ag.ks.gov/in-your-corner-kansas

 

MARYLAND

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Maryland. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

Bonding/ Insurance: Municipalities and counties may require, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: www.mdauctioneers.org

State Real Estate Contact: www.dllr.state.md.us/license/mrec

State Agency Contact:

Maryland Consumer Protection Division

200 St. Paul Pl.

Baltimore, MD 21202

410.528.8662

https://www.marylandattorneygeneral.gov/Pages/CPD/default.aspx

 

MICHIGAN

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Michigan. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: www.msaa.org

State Real Estate Contact: https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_72600_72602_72731_72871—,00.html

State Agency Contact:

Michigan Consumer Protection Division

P.O. Box 30213

Lansing, MI 48909

517.373.1140

michigan.gov/ag

 

MINNESOTA

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Minnesota. Licensed by county, check for requirements.

Minimum Age: 18

Bonding/ Insurance: Varies by county, $1000- $3000

Fees: Varies by county

State Auctioneers Association: www.minnesotaauctioneers.org

State Real Estate Contact: https://www.mn.gov/commerce/licensees/real-estate

State Agency Contact:

Minnesota Consumer Services Center

85 7th Place E, Ste 280

Saint Paul, MN 55101

651.539.1500

https://mn.gov/commerce/consumers/

 

MISSOURI

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Missouri. Licensed by county, check for requirements.

Bonding/ Insurance: Varies by county.

Fees: Varies by county

State Auctioneers Association: www.moauctioneers.org

State Real Estate Contact: pr.mo.gov/realestate

State Agency Contact:

Missouri Consumer Protection Division

207 W. High Street

P.O. Box 899

Jefferson City, MO 65102

573.751.3321

https://ago.mo.gov/civil-division/consumer

 

MONTANA

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Montana. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

Bonding / Insurance: Yes, may vary by county or auction type.

State Auctioneers Association: www.montanaauctioneers.org

State Real Estate Contact: montanarealtors.org/education/board-of-realty-regulation

State Agency Contact:

Montana Office of Consumer Protection

P.O. Box 200151

Helena, MT 59620

406.444.4500

dojmt.gov/consumer

 

NEBRASKA

State Auction License Required: Certain types of auctions (motor vehicle) may require licenses. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: www.nebraskaauctioneers.com

State Real Estate Contact: www.nrec.ne.gov

State Agency Contact:

Nebraska Consumer Protection Division

2115 State Capitol

Lincoln, NE 68509

402.471.2682

protectthegoodlife.nebraska.gov

 

NEVADA

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Nevada. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: None

State Real Estate Contact: www.red.nv.gov

State Agency Contact:

Nevada Bureau of Consumer Protection

100 North Carson Street

Carson City, NV 89701

775.684.1100

ag.nv.gov/About/Consumer_Protection/Bureau_of_Consumer_Protection

 

NEW JERSEY

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in New Jersey.  Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: http://njssa.com/

State Real Estate Contact: www.state.nj.us/dobi/division_rec

State Agency Contact:

New Jersey Office of Consumer Protection

124 Halsey Street

Newark, NJ 07102

973.504.6200

state.nj.us/nj/community/consumer

 

NEW MEXICO

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in New Mexico.  Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: None

State Real Estate Contact: https://www.rld.nm.gov/boards-and-commissions/individual-boards-and-commissions/real-estate-commission/

State Agency Contact:

New Mexico Consumer Protection Division

408 Galisteo St.

Santa Fe, NM 87501

505.490.4060

nmag.gov/santa-fe.aspx

 

NEW YORK

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in New York. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: www.nysauctioneers.com

State Real Estate Contact: https://dos.ny.gov/real-estate-broker

State Agency Contact:

New York Division of Consumer Protection

One Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Avenue

Albany, NY 12231

518.474.4429

dos.ny.gov/consumerprotection

 

OKLAHOMA

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Oklahoma. Certain types of auctions (e.g. livestock, etc.) may require licenses. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: www.okauctioneers.org

State Real Estate Contact: www.ok.gov/OREC

State Agency Contact:

Oklahoma Public Protection Unit

313 NE 21st St.

Oklahoma City, OK 73105

405.521.3921

oag.ok.gov/citizen-resources

 

OREGON

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in the state or Oregon. Certain types of auctions may requires licenses. See ORS698.640 for regulatory details. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: www.oregonauctioneers.org

State Real Estate Contact: www.oregon.gov/rea

State Agency Contact:

Oregon Consumer Protection Office

1162 Court St. NE

Salem, OR 97301-4096

877.877.9392

doj.state.or.us/consumer-protection/

 

RHODE ISLAND

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Rhode Island. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: None

State Real Estate Contact: dbr.ri.gov/divisions/commlicensing/realestate.php

State Agency Contact:

Rhode Island Consumer Protection Unit

150 S. Main St.

Providence, RI 02903

401.274.4400

riag.ri.gov/ConsumerProtection/About.php

UTAH

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneer license in Utah. Municipalities and counties may require permits, check for requirements.

State Auctioneers Association: www.utahauctioneer.org

State Real Estate Contact: realestate.utah.gov

State Agency Contact:

Utah Division of Consumer Protection

160 East 300 South, 2nd Floor

P.O. Box 146704

Salt Lake City, UT 84111

801.530.6601

dcp.utah.gov

 

WYOMING

State Auction License Required: There is no state required auctioneers license in Wyoming. Some counties and municipalities may require a permit or licensing.

State Auctioneers Association: www.wyoauctioneers.org

State Real Estate Contact: realestate.wyo.gov

State Agency Contact:

Wyoming Attorney General’s Office Consumer Protection Unit

2320 Capitol Avenue

Cheyenne, WY 82002

307.777.8962

ag.wyo.gov/cpu